AAPO HEINONEN QUINTET HEALING FLOWS

1. Daily Mirages (8:02)

Ville Vannemaa - alto sax Aapo Heinonen - piano, synthesizer Veikki Virkajärvi - electric guitar Teija Sotikoff - vocals Pasi Toivanen - electric bass Tomi Saikkonen - drums, percussion

2. Rude Enough (7:13)

Aapo Heinonen – piano, synthesizer Ville Vannemaa – tenor sax Veikki Virkajärvi – electric guitar Pasi Toivanen – electric bass Tomi Saikkonen – drums, percussion

3. Swedish Sorrow (5:48)

Aapo Heinonen - piano Ville Vannemaa - soprano sax Pasi Toivanen - electric bass Tomi Saikkonen - drums

4. Orphanarium (6:50)

Aapo Heinonen – piano Ville Vannemaa – soprano sax Veikki Virkajärvi – electric guitar Pasi Toivanen – acoustic bass Tomi Saikkonen – drums

5. Insight Into Sight!? (7:04)

Ville Vannemaa - tenor sax Veikki Virkajärvi - electric guitar Aapo Heinonen - piano, synthesizer Pasi Toivanen - electric bass Tomi Saikkonen - drums, percussion

6. Swindler's List (6:20)

Aapo Heinonen – piano Ville Vannemaa – tenor sax Veikki Virkajärvi – electric guitar Pasi Toivanen – acoustic bass Tomi Saikkonen – drums

7. Healing Flows (9:45)

Teija Sotikoff - vocals Veikki Virkajärvi - electric guitar Aapo Heinonen - piano, synthesizer Ville Vannemaa - alto sax Pasi Toivanen - electric bass Tomi Saikkonen - drums, percussion

8. News From The Past (7:43)

Aapo Heinonen – piano Teija Sotikoff – vocals Ville Vannemaa – tenor sax Lotta Pitkänen – violin Pasi Toivanen – acoustic bass Tomi Saikkonen – drums

HEALING FLOWS

When it comes to the arc of these compositions, there are so many meticulously composed and arranged sections in these songs that I consider myself more of a composer and a band leader than a solo pianist. I find this music to be closer to modern big band music played by a small ensemble than traditional contemporary jazz - whatever that means. On our last recording A Daydream Between Nightmares, my piano plaving was more at the center of the music, while this time most of the solos are played by saxophonist Ville Vannemaa and guitarist Veikki Virkajärvi. This is why the album carries the name of Aapo Heinonen Quintet (unlike the previous one which had only my name on the cover), even though there are actually less pieces played by our original quintet here than on the previous album.

On this album there are also great vocal performances by Teija Sotikoff, which add elements of gentle world music and film scores to the mix. However, it is always difficult to categorize music, and in most cases it is not even worth the effort to do so. At the moment, there is such a variety of music made, and so many different kinds of jazz groups just in Finland, that it is almost sad how everything that comes out of here is placed under the label of 'Suomijazz' (Finnish jazz). I would like to thank especially all the great Finnish musicians I have had a chance to work with. Your inspiration has been immensely rewarding!

THANKS TO

My band members Ville Vannemaa, Veikki Virkajärvi, Pasi Toivanen and Tomi Saikkonen for their great playing and generous support; the wonderful guest performers Teija Sotikoff and Lotta Pitkänen; Fg Naxos for their valuable effort; Jarkko Sallinen and Silja Nummi; Hannu Lamminmäki for a great job and his endless patience; Varistoteles Studios and Markku Veijonsuo; Everyone who decided to buy this album - I hope every moment you listen to this music is better than it would be without it! Very special thanks go to all our families, girlfriends, wives and loved ones for their care and support.

Extra special thanks go to ESEK - The Finnish Performing Music Promotion Centre and the Arts Council of Finland for their financial support.

Let the music flow! - Aapo Heinonen



Aapo Heinonen Ville Vannemaa Pasi Toivanen Tomi Saikkonen Veikki Virkajärvi piano, keyboards alto, soprano & tenor saxophones acoustic & electric bass drums & percussion electric guitar (tracks 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7)

Teija Sotikoff Lotta Pitkänen vocals (tracks 1, 7, 8) violin (track 8)

All compositions by Aapo Heinonen Recorded by Hannu Lamminmäki at Varistoteles Studios in March 2012 Mixed and Mastered by Hannu Lamminmäki Photos by Juha Vuorinen Piano Tuning by Mika Latvala Prophone Finnish Jazz Productions 2013